Search
Browse Categories


Big Sky Evolution 2P 2D2V rev. D

Big Sky Evolution 2P tent

double wall 2 Person tent with<br> 2 Doors 2 Vestibule Doors<br><br> weight: 1.28kg (2lb 13.2oz) for<br> light weight fly with SuprSil fabric, Mesh Netting interior w/ clips, and UL AL poles (rev. J)

Product Reviews

(323 Ratings, 13 Reviews) Average Rating:
ratingratingratingratingrating
ratingratingratingratingrating
Best lightweight freestanding tent for 2
Matt J (HIGH SPRINGS, FL) 5/7/2016 4:48 PM
Just completed another weeklong backpacking trip with this tent (and my wife) and this is the best tent I've ever owned. Less than 3 lbs, highly packable, 2 doors, 2 porches, completely freestanding, EASY setup, rain-storm worthy--we have no complaints. Great tent!
ratingratingratingratingrating
TrailSpace Evolution 2P review
psychopengy (USA) 10/20/2015 1:28 PM
TrailSpace Evolution 2P review http://www.trailspace.com/gear/big-sky/evolution-2p/#review26542
ratingratingratingratingrating
PCT through hiker, "Half-Double"
Gregg Lansing (Tucson, AZ) 7/25/2014 12:26 PM
This tent was engineered with thoughtfulness and precision. My wife and I are 1000+ miles into the Pacific Crest Trail. We have been using the Evolution 2p the entire way. It is fast and easy to set up and has sheltered us superbly through rain, wind and hail. Customer service from Big Sky has been excellent. Bob Molen has taken care of us and has has stood behind his products. I recommend this tent to my friends and fellow backpackers. I will buy another when this one wears out...if it wears out.
ratingratingratingratingrating
GEAR REVIEW: Big Sky International Evolution 2P Tent
Southwest Ultralight blog (Durango, CO) 2/12/2014 8:05 PM
GEAR REVIEW: Big Sky International Evolution 2P Tent http://southwestultralight.blogspot.com/2013/08/gear-review-big-sky-international_3611.html or http://tinyurl.com/lwaq8du
ratingratingratingratingrating
Long Distance Backpacker
Old Drum (Missouri) 7/4/2012 2:58 PM
Bought my first one at Neals Gap on my 2006 AT Thru-hike when I knew nothing about hiking. Bought my second one in 2009 after putting over 7000 miles on the first. Now how over 7000 miles on the second one and still use both when we take grandkids with us. I am a very happy customer.
ratingratingratingratingrating
...plenty of room for two people
Becky D. (USA) 5/21/2012 8:02 AM
Review: Big Sky Evolution 2P Tent Yahoo! Contributor Network Jun 25, 2010 http://voices.yahoo.com/review-big-sky-evolution-2p-tent-6234716.html?cat=7 or http://tinyurl.com/75png82
ratingratingratingratingrating
100 nights in the backcounty
Jason LooseArrow (USA California ) 12/21/2011 6:33 PM
I just wanted to take a moment and talk about the tent that I bought from you in October, 2007. The tent is incredible. My wife and I spend a lot of time backpacking in Yosemite Nat'l Park, about 25 days a year in the backcountry and have used your tent nearly every night. The vast majority of that time has been off-trail where the place we end up will be an unknown. At under three pounds, it's versatility and quality is unmatched. Lightness, compactness, durability and versatility are all very important in a shelter and your tent has been exceptional. We've braved snow, wind storms, rains, rocks, tiny tent placements and so much more with your tent and we are really grateful for such a great tent.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Light and roomy
Beth (Michigan) 10/4/2010 10:16 AM
I love my tent! I've had it for four years, and find it is the tent that gets put in the pack more than any other. It is well designed for backpacking. It is a light tent, with room for me and ALL of my gear (and then some), is free standing, has two large vestibules and four storage pockets, and has a truly waterproof floor. One night, having set up in an unfortunate location, I woke thinking I was on a water bed. I wasn't, but the waterproof floor kept my stuff dry as I moved the tent from the deep puddle that had accumulated where I had set up the tent. With a little extra cord for guy lines, it has withstood high winds above treeline. The light gray color of the fly creates a nice, realistic color inside the tent. Best of all, it shows virtually no wear. This year I finally had to reseal the seams, but that's a tiny amount of maintenance for the amount of use this tent has seen. I have the version with carbon poles, titanium stakes, and clips. When this one wears out, I plan on buying it's twin.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Student
Jeff F (SLO, CA) 9/13/2010 10:33 PM
This is a great backpacking tent. Most of the other two-man tents I've used typically require two people and a significant amount of time to set up, but not this one. I leave the rain fly velcro-ed to the tent, and all it takes me is maybe 3 minutes between taking it out of the bag and having a free-standing tent. 8 stakes later, and I can focus on the rest of my life. This tent is also great for organizing your life, since it comes with 4 large mesh pockets. Unless you're going ultra-light, I would recommend this over a bivy or a 1-man tent any day. It's light enough that I don't feel over-burdened, and it roomy enough for me and all my gear and my dog to spread out. Getting in and out is clean and warm in the two vestibules. Where this tent excels in performance, however, it lacks in durability. While it may stand up well to weather (and it _does_ stand up well to weather), it doesn't put up much of a fight against solid objects. I've had to stitch up quite a few holes in the mesh screen, and as of last weekend, I've had my poles bent out of shape twice. Replacing them is either really expensive or slightly expensive and time consuming. In the end, I'm happy with my tent, but I wish it were a bit more durable.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Perfect for Appalachian Trail Hiker and Overnight Camper
"The Fugitive" (GA-->ME) 9/6/2010 11:29 AM
I purchased my Evolution 2p while hiking the AT (my Eureka leaked on me on the 1st night on the trail; I bought this one at Neel's Gap on Day 2 and used it for the rest of the trip)! It is/was a fantastic tent, and I don't think I'll ever want to buy a new tent from anyone! It is light enough for one to carry, spacious enough for two to sleep in (my girlfriend joined me for a few nights on the trail) and the two porch flies are great for stowing gear, or for dogs if you are hiking with yours. On cool nights on top of balds, I would sleep with a 360 degree view of the stars; on muggy, rainy nights, with the rainfly on, I stayed cool with the air ventilators at the top. Seriously, this tent lasted my entire journey and I will continue to use it (and HAVE) for car-camping with my girlfriend. STRONGLY recommend. Signed with my trail name: "The Fugitive"
ratingratingratingratingrating
Psychologist & Professor
John C (Bozeman) 8/23/2009 3:18 PM
This [Big Sky's Evolution 2P] is an outstanding tent. Tents are my favorite piece of backpacking gear and I'm quite picky. This one has all of my requirements for backpacking--all mesh upper for being able to enjoy nature when the bugs get bad, or there's no chance of rain, two doors, and incredible light weight. I also like the window in the fly and porch fly option. I'm glad Bob Molen is as picky as I am and both designs and builds his tents so meticulously.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Evolution 2P 2D is a Winner
Anonymous (Unknown) 11/21/2007 12:19 PM
I find the Evolution 2P a snap to put up. Once set up, I do love the open, breezy tent option if you don't use the fly. I do find the tent well designed. Big wall pockets to put items in. Since the ceiling is nice and high and come with 4 loops already attached at strategic points on the seams, I decided to sew up my own ceiling loft. It is easy to make and gives me more options for storage. All seams look well sewed. The zipper is a smaller variety, less weight and quiet. I love the separate doors and vestibule for each person. Perfect. No crawing over the other one to get out. I can fit my pack inside the vestibule, as well as my boots. I love the way Big Sky has created the compression stuff sack. I can see how it is extremely logical and necessary, since the fabric is so slippery. The stakes are extremely lightweight and compliment the lightness of the whole package. The tent poles seem to function very well, too. The [Evolution 2P 2D] held out perfectly in a hard driving rain that lasted hours. We remained toasty dry inside. A great little tent. I do love the HUGH wall pockets that [Big Sky] designed into the tent. They are very handy. And the collapsable venting drafts at the top of the tent "ceiling" are fabulous. Great idea to keep them open with the rod. So, all in all, I am still madly in love with the tent. Worth the wait. I would highly rate this tent and recommend it for anyone who wants a well built extremely light-weight tent. Great things do come in small packages. Marie Johansen, Michigan
ratingratingratingratingrating
Motorcycle Camping
(Unknown) 9/30/2007 7:24 PM
In addition to backpacking, I use my 2P2D2V for camping on motorcycle trips. I ride a 2002 HD Road King, and am able to pack the shelter in a saddle bag. I pack the tent, rainfly, ground cloth and pegs into an Outdoor Research Hydrolite #2 stuff sack, which when closed measures 7" diameter by 12" long. The aluminum poles which fold to 17.5" are also placed in the saddle bag. I have found this same packing configuration works well in my backpack. I have found the tent to be exceedingly easy to pitch as well as breakdown. It is very roomy, with plenty of space for all my gear inside. The mesh body really helps mitigate some of the warm nights down here in Texas. It takes very little of the space available in the saddle bags. Do I love it....You bet!!! If you do any motorcycle camping, this is the tent you need. Oh yea....and for the pack on your back....light...light....light!!!! Jerry Sheriff
page1